Why does my return show me an error when I try to use Auto-fill My Return (AFR) or NETFILE?

Once in a while, you might notice that H&R Block’s tax software shows you an error (like the one below) when using the AFR feature or when filing your return with NETFILE. Don’t worry, this is only because the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) website is down for daily system maintenance.

Since both the AFR and NETFILE services require the CRA website to either download information from it or transmit data to it, you won’t be able to use either of these services while the CRA website is unavailable. Having said that, the CRA website is down only a few hours a day.

You can download information from the CRA using the AFR feature, NETFILE your return, and even access the CRA My Account service, during the following hours of operation:

 Time zone

 7 days a week

 Pacific time

 3:00 a.m. to midnight

 Mountain time

 4:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m.

 Central time

 5:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.

 Eastern time

 6:00 a.m. to 3:00 a.m.

 Atlantic time

 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 a.m.

 Newfoundland time

 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 a.m.

 Outside Canada and the United States (Eastern Time) 

 6 a.m. to 3 a.m.

 

Where can I learn more?